Kneading is Necessary

So in the beginning of the week, I had planned to make sloppy Joe’s after football on Saturday. I added hamburger rolls to my list, and immediately rethought my decision.

Sloppy Joe’s are by nature, well, sloppy. They tend to make regular sandwich rolls soggy and fall apart. Did I want that? No not really. So I set out on trusty foodgawker to find a recipe for sandwich rolls.

I found this recipe on The Curvy Carrot. I liked that the rolls used whole wheat flour and they looked delicious. And, we share the same sentiments about store bought rolls. I decided to give it a go.

I adapted it using 1 ½ cups of whole wheat flour instead of oat flour. I also didn’t have a stand mixer, so I kneaded my hand. Needless to say, I didn’t knead the dough long enough, so my rolls didn’t get as big. I also didn’t use an eggwash because I didn’t have egg on hand. I just brushed it with a little extra virgin olive oil.

With all that being said, they still tasted delicious.

So I’ll leave the explaining to The Curvy Carrot blog. Again, here’s the recipe.

And here are pictures of mine:

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Kneading is Necessary

  1. […] I mentioned in my last post, I made Sloppy Joe’s on Saturday to go with my homemade buns. There’s really not much to […]

Leave a comment