Want Some More Sloppy Joe’s?

As I mentioned in my last post, I made Sloppy Joe’s on Saturday to go with my homemade buns. There’s really not much to say about Sloppy Joe’s. They definitely end up getting eaten with a fork, but the fork is put off with the right sandwich rolls.

They remind me of being a little kid, so maybe that’s why Sloppy Joe’s seem so comforting to me. Or maybe it’s all that saucy goodness that drips out. Being messy while eating? Yup, definitely childhood.

I used 99% lean ground turkey to lighten up the dinner. Guess what? The fat was not missed. Mostly because I packed it with spices. That’s a good trick if you’re trying to cut out some fat: replace it with spices and flavor!

I made these with some pumpkin beer that we had leftover from a get together. As my boyfriend said to me the other day, October is my month to fill everything with pumpkin. So why not keep it going?

Excuse my pictures in this post. Not my best stuff. I was starving!

Turkey Sloppy Joe’s
(Serves 6-8)

1 lb lean ground turkey
1 medium bell pepper, diced
1 medium onion, diced
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
½ bottle pumpkin beer
1 small can of tomato sauce (it ends up being about a cup)
½ can tomato paste (about 2 tbsp)
1 tsp. chili powder
¼ tsp. cumin
1/8 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
Pinch of red pepper flake
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. In a large frying pan over medium-high heat, put in the ground turkey, bell pepper, onion and garlic. Break up the ground turkey into small pieces. Cook until browned and onions become slightly translucent.
  2. Add in all the rest of the ingredients. Stir well to combine.
  3. Cook for about 15 minutes until the sauce is thick and all of the flavors have a chance to combine together.
  4. At this point, I suggest you taste test to see if any other spices and salt and pepper are needed.
  5. Serve on toasted buns, and get messy!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

