Never Too Much Avocado

Remember my Guacamole Chicken Salad I made a few posts ago? I went to make some more last week because Tim LOVED it, but I didn’t have any more chicken in the house.

What I did have was 2 more avocados, leftover cilantro, limes and onion.

I decided to take some inspiration from Chipotle’s delicious cilantro lime rice and make a spin off of it with quinoa and some other ingredients I had laying around.

I made a lime-chili vinaigrette to go over top of the quinoa. It was awesome. I just wish I had more of it! The dish tastes great warm or cold and can be used as a side dish or a lunch. The quinoa and black beans kick up the protein to make it a complete meal. All the light flavors won’t leave you weighed down!

20120214-124638.jpg

Avocado Lime Quinoa
(Serves 4-6)

1 c. dry quinoa
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
2 avocados, diced
1 small onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 c. chopped cilantro
1 lime, juiced
1 tsp. chili powder
1/4 c. olive oil
Pinch of red pepper flake, optional
Salt and pepper to taste

In a medium saucepan, add 2 cups of water, 1 cup of quinoa, onion and garlic. Bring to a boil. Then, turn to low and cook until the quinoa plumps up. About 10 minutes (check your package directions).

Let the quinoa cool slightly while you prepare the other ingredients.

Slice the avocado around the middle all the way around and twist to separate. Take out the pit and scoop out the meat with a spoon. Dice and put into a small bowl. Cover with lime juice, olive oil, and chili powder. Mix well.

Add the beans, cilantro and avocado mixture to the quinoa. Add salt and pepper to taste, along with the red pepper flake, if desired. Serve warm or cold.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Never Too Much Avocado

  1. Jennifer Jenrette says:

    Oh my gosh, this sounds absolutely heavenly!!! I can’t wait to make it! I keep trying to get my husband to be okay with a meatless meal, and I hope this will do the trick…protein from the beans and quinoa…and well, avocados are basically the most delicious thing on the earth so… Thanks!

Leave a comment