Balsamic-Braised Sausages

…in the crock pot!

Remember that Williams-Sonoma crock pot cookbook I mentioned a little while ago? Well, this recipe comes from it.

I bought this cookbook because I love utilizing my crock pot. It makes it so easy, and it’s a one pot clean-up!

This recipe for braised sausages with balsamic vinegar and fennel caught my eye because I had just bought a very large bottle of balsamic vinegar at the store. Also, I’ve become obsessed recently with Shady Brook Farms’ lean sweet Italian turkey sausage. Oh, and this recipe also has fennel too. YUM!

Never used fennel? Here’s a guide how to cut it.

I also added some asparagus to the recipe because I can’t get enough of it, and I had some lying around šŸ™‚

I served it over whole wheat egg noodles. But I’m sure it would be delicious over any grain or pasta (i.e. brown rice, quinoa, cous cous, etc). Or just omit it all together.

20120315-173251.jpg

Balsamic-Braised Sausages
(Serves 4-6)

1 pkg. Shady Brook Farm lean Italian turkey sausage (or pork sausage if you prefer)
1 large shallot, or 1 small onion, finely chopped
1 fennel bulb, chopped or sliced
3 stalks celery, chopped
1 bunch asparagus, tough ends trimmed off and sliced into 1″ pieces
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 c. chicken stock
1/4 c. balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar or white wine
Salt and pepper

Preheat your broiler. Line a baking sheet with foil for easy clean up. Put your sausages on the baking sheet. Broil until golden brown, turning after each side browns. About 9-10 minutes total.

Put all the other ingredients in the slow cooker. Top with broiled sausages. Cover and cook on high for 2.5 hours or low for 5.5 hours. Turn the sausages halfway through if possible, if not, no big deal!

Serve over pasta or your favorite grain.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

