Pulled Pork & Classic, Yummy Sides

On Saturday night, we had Tim’s best friend and his wife over for dinner, along with their adorable daughter.

I had to think of something kid friendly, easy to make, and a big batch. What did I come up with? Pulled BBQ pork sandwiches, cornbread and coleslaw.

I used my slow cooker for the pulled pork, so all I had to do was dump some ingredients in and let it sit.

As for the cornbread? I used a box mix. Don’t be too surprised. I love the boxed mixes of cornbread. Usually jiffy, but hey, even the Safeway brand was good. I just make it my own by adding ingredients that tickle my fancy. Chop up some jalapenos, sundried tomatoes, scallions. The possibilities are endless. I also made some honey cinnamon butter that is delicious on warm cornbread!

With the coleslaw, I attempted to make a healthy version, using plain, nonfat, Greek yogurt instead of mayo. I also added a little extra virgin olive oil for some healthy fats and a little extra flavor. It turned out pretty well if you ask me! Just let it sit for a couple hours before you serve it because the cabbage wilts down from the salt and it gets more juicey! I made the recipe with 2 bags of premade coleslaw mix, and it made a ton. Lots of leftovers that get even better as it sits.

Sorry for the lack of pictures with these recipes!

Pulled BBQ Pork
(Makes 10-12 sandwiches)

1 pork loin*
1 c. coca cola or Dr. Pepper
1 small onion, sliced
1 c. BBQ sauce, plus more for sandwiches

Put your onion and soda in the bottom of your crock pot. Place the pork loin on top. Cook for 4-6 hours on low until the pork is fork tender and shreds easily.

Once shredded, add 1 cup of BBQ sauce. Stir to combine. Cook for about 30-45 more minutes. Serve on your favorite buns with more BBQ sauce if desired.

*Note: I used a Smithfield Portobello mushroom pork loin, it’s the only one my store had. Check out the weight of a plain pork loin to that one. I forgot to write down how much it weighed!

Healthier Coleslaw
(Serves about 6-10)

2 bags of preshredded coleslaw cabbage mix
1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 c. plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
1/3 c. apple cider vinegar
2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
2 tbsp. honey

Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Let sit for 1-2 hours, until some moisture leaks out. Then adjust your seasonings to taste.

Cornbread with Honey Cinnamon Butter
(Serves 6-8)

For the cornbread:

2 small boxes of cornbread mix (i.e. Jiffy)
1 tbsp. honey
1/2 tsp. black pepper

For the butter:

1 stick of butter, or a half cup of your favorite butter spread, room temperature
1 tbsp. honey
1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Prepare the cornbread according to package directions. Add in honey and pepper. I cooked mine in an awesome scone pan that Tim’s mom got me for Christmas! Feel free to use a round or square cake pan, muffin tins, or loaf pan.

With a fork, combine the ingredients for the butter. Serve right away. Or if you’re preparing it ahead of time, place in the fridge and take out about 30-45 minutes before use.

Eat the cornbread still warm with the butter. It’s delish!

Leave a Reply

