A Soup for a Different Kind of Cold…

Well, you may or may not be happy that I’m posting 2 soup recipes in a row.

My boyfriend is feeling very under the weather, so I surprised him this morning by going over and making a spin off of Italian wedding soup. Now, when you think of a soup to make someone when they’re sick, I’m sure your mind jumps to chicken noodle soup.

Mine too. But I wanted something with more nutrients and flavor.

I made my own chicken meatballs with ground chicken and some spices. Traditionally, meatballs have some breadcrumbs, egg and Parmesan cheese in them. I tried it without all that. They turned out great! Though they were a little wet to work with, they held together beautifully.

You can really use any of your favorite small pasta for soup I decided to go with these.

20120119-153536.jpg

I used that whole little box, because my boy and I both enjoy more pasta than broth. If you like more broth, add more liquid or use less pasta.

I also cooked my pasta in water with the veggies. They absorb so much liquid that I wanted to save my chicken broth for the broth of the soup! You’ll see.

Lastly, I cheated by using one of those plastic containers of sliced carrots and celery in water in the produce section. I only had to dice the pieces! It’s a good timesaver if you need it.

So make this for someone with the sniffles and they’ll love you. Or just make it for yourself when you need a nice hot bowl of comfort!

20120119-155707.jpg

Italian Wedding Soup
(Serves 4-8)

For the meatballs:

1 lb. lean ground chicken or turkey
1/4 of a medium onion, grated
2 tbsp. flour
2 pinches each of dried basil, parsley, and oregano
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground pepper

For the soup:

1 lb. box of acini de pepe, pastina, orzo, etc.
1-1 1/2 c. each of diced celery and carrots
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 qt. chicken stock
1 bag of fresh washed spinach
Olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
Red pepper flake or hot sauce to taste for a little kick

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

In a large pot or a Dutch oven, heat a drizzle of olive oil over medium heat. Throw in your carrots, celery and garlic. Cook for about 10 minutes until the veggies soften.

Then, add enough water to the pot to cook your box of pasta. Bring to a boil. Cook your pasta until it’s al dente and puffs up.

Meanwhile, put all of your meatball ingredients in a mixing bowl. Mix until combined. Grab a couple of spoons and using about a tablespoon sized amount, drop onto a cookie sheet like you’re making drop cookies. Bake in the oven for about 10 minutes, or until they look like this.

20120119-155122.jpg

When the pasta is done, add in the meatballs, chicken stock, and red pepper flake or a dash or two of hot sauce.

Now, see the brown bits left on the pan from the meatballs? While the pan is still warm, put in about a cup of water and scrape the pan to get all of the good bits up. Pour into the pot of soup.

Add in your spinach and let it gently wilt down. When the spinach is wilted, the soup is done! Just make sure you taste it along the way for salt and pepper.

Ladle up a bowlful and enjoy 🙂

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “A Soup for a Different Kind of Cold…

  1. Looks yummy! Hope he loved it!

Leave a comment