Sweet and Salty Toffee

Well. This isn’t a cookie recipe but it falls along the same lines. It’s toffee made out of saltine crackers.

I’ve had the variety made with graham crackers, but there’s something that drew me to the saltines…most likely the salty-sweet combination that they would lend to the toffee.

I made it this morning, at about 7:30. I have a really difficult time sleeping in once I’m getting up at 6AM 4 days a week! So I thought why not make myself useful since I still have so much to do before Christmas.

I snuck a piece of it, and let me tell you, it’s delicious. The sweet-salty combo is oh-so-good. And like most of my recipes, very easy to make. The best part? You don’t even need a candy thermometer! Though, it is on my list of things to get because I’m making a salted caramel tart for Christmas dessert…. I know. I can’t wait, it sounds delicious. And more of that sweet and salty mix 🙂

It takes no time at all to whip this up, and with only 4 (maybe 5 ingredients if you so choose), it’s definitely a winner in my book!

Saltine Toffee
(Makes 1 sheet pan)

1 c. unsalted butter (2 sticks)
1 c. brown sugar
About 40 saltines
12 oz. bag Ghiradelli’s semi-sweet chocolate chips (or another good quality chocolate)
¼ – ½ c. finely or coarsely chopped pecans, walnuts, etc. – whatever you want to top it with if you desire

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and spray with a cooking spray. Line with an even layer of saltines.

Melt the butter and sugar in a saucepan on the stove on medium heat. Once it begins to boil, reduce heat to medium-low and allow to simmer for 5-6 minutes until the sugar dissolves and the mixture thickens.

Pour the mixture over the saltines and spread to evenly coat. Pop in the oven for about 6-10 minutes (depending on your oven), until the toffee is bubbling.

Remove from the oven and allow to sit for about 3-5 minutes. Pour the chocolate chips on top and allow to melt. I popped mine back in the warm oven that I had turned off, for just a few minutes.

Spread the chocolate into an even layer. Add nuts or whatever topping you’d like at this time. Put in the fridge until hardened, about 1-2 hours.

Break into whatever sized pieces you want. I found they broke into cleaner pieces if i had the chocolate facing up and folded the sides downwards so the breaking area comes up…. hope that makes sense! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

