Pumpkin Cupcakes, Anyone?

Hello, everyone! Miss me? I apologize for the long hiatus. I kept forgetting to bring the camera cord back to my apartment, I started my new job and then my power cord for my laptop broke!

So I have a fantastic recipe to kick off having more recipes. Pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. Yum!

I made these for a friend’s Thanksgiving dinner. I chose to do them in miniature form 1) because after all the delicious food that was eaten for dinner I didn’t think a full cupcake would be super appetizing and 2) everything tastes better in mini form.

I found this really easy recipe on foodgawker. And let me tell you. I HATE the word moist, but these cupcakes were so moist it was almost hard to tell when they were done!

The original recipe for the cream cheese frosting turned out a little thinner than I would’ve liked. It called for 1/4 cup of milk, but I recommend leaving it out at least at first to check the consistency. I also added more powdered sugar.

I hope this makes up for no recipes for almost 2 weeks!

Pumpkin Cupcakes with Spiced Cream Cheese Frosting
(Makes about 4 dozen mini cupcakes)

For the cupcakes:

1 box yellow or white cake mix
1 15 oz can pumpkin puree (minus ¼ cup)
½ c. water

For the icing:

8 oz. Neufchatel or cream cheese
¼ c. pumpkin puree
2/3 – 1 c. powdered sugar
3 tbsp. brown sugar
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
½ tsp. cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 25 degrees less than your boxed cake mix says to set for normal sized cupcakes. Line or grease your mini muffin trays.

In a bowl, mix together your box of cake mix, pumpkin puree and water. NO oil or eggs, isn’t it great?

Fill your mini muffin cups about ¾ of the way full with batter. About 1 heaping tablespoon of batter.

Pop in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. Every oven is different, so please start checking them after 15 minutes, then about every 3 minutes depending how your toothpick comes out (it should be clean). Allow to cool before icing.

If you want normal sized cupcakes, cook according to package directions.

Meanwhile, in an electric mixer, beat room temperature cream cheese until smooth and fluffy. Add in remaining ingredients and beat until incorporated. Taste it, if you think it needs more sugar or spices, feel free to add! Put into a ziploc or piping bag and place in the fridge for later.

When it’s time to ice the cupcakes, you can either spread it on with a knife, or cut the edge off of your ziploc bag and pipe away. If you have a fancy pastry bag with tips, go nuts!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

