Something to Help Celebrate 11.11.11

At the chili cook off last weekend, I tried some mulled wine for the first time….AMAZING. Definitely a nice change from drinking a regular glass of red wine.

It was a Pinot Noir made by Tim’s friend’s wife (who also makes a delicious jalapeno jelly that I’m obsessed with) that she threw some spices and sugar into.

She also told me that Williams Sonoma had a tin of mulling spices. What? I love Williams Sonoma. I could always use a good excuse to go there!

So I grabbed a cheap, $9 1.5 L bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon (you can also use Pinot Noir, any cheap red wine will do the trick) and went to work. Well, sort of. This is barely any work at all.

I made it in my crock pot because you really shouldn’t let this boil, but you can definitely do it on a stove top as well.

As for the spices, I didn’t have cheesecloth or a tea infuser on hand, and I certainly wasn’t going to buy one. I strained the wine through a mesh sieve into another bowl when it was done, cooled it, then used a funnel to bottle it back up.

You need to taste it after it’s been mulling for awhile to see if it needs more sugar or spices. I liked mine a little on the sweeter side.

So here’s a little something to help you celebrate 11-11-11!

Crock Pot Mulled Wine

1.5 L bottle of CHEAP red wine (don’t go crazy)
1/3 c. white sugar
1/3 c. packed brown sugar
3 tbsp. mulling spices

If you are using cheesecloth or a tea infuser, put your spices into it and tie it up.

Pour the wine and sugars into the crock pot and stir. Drop the spices in.

Cook on low for 4 hours or on high for 1-2 hours. Use your taste buds to adjust!

Drink hot, warm, or room temperature.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

