Cookie Classic Reborn

So my boyfriend had a plethora of old fashioned Quaker Oats by accident, instead of quick cooking. What to do to use up a bunch of them?

Make oatmeal raisin cookies!

Now, I’m someone that has been a long time raisin hater. Growing up, the only time I would attempt to try them would be in an oatmeal raisin cookie. Even that didn’t happen often. Usually I’d half the dough and put raisins in one half for my brother and chocolate chips in the other half for me! Never had oatmeal chocolate chip cookies? Do it.

The BEST recipe for oatmeal raisin cookies comes on the top of the Quaker Oats cylinder: their Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies. Don’t be too surprised. They are the oatmeal experts.

When I had the idea to make cookies, I searched online for the recipe and saw the bar variation. Hence, why this recipe is in bar form.

So, with my grown up tastes, I put together my brother’s favorite (oatmeal raisin) and my favorite (because I had a little bit of chocolate chips lying around).

I also subbed the butter for applesauce and some whole wheat flour for all-purpose. Want the original recipe? Check it out.

Combine everything I said: oatmeal raisin chocolate chip bars were born.

Not a raisin person? That’s ok. Leave ’em out and add more chocolate chips or use dried cranberries!

 

Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Bars
(Makes 24 squares)

½ c. applesauce
¾ c. firmly packed brown sugar
½ c. granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 ½ tsp. vanilla
1 c. whole wheat flour
½ c. all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
½ tsp. salt
3 c. Quaker Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
¾ c. raisins
1/3 c. chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, beat applesauce and sugars until combined. Add eggs and vanilla and beat together.

In another bowl, mix together, flours, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir well to combine all ingredients.

Slowly add dry ingredients into wet ingredients. Pour in oats, raisins and chocolate chips. Mix until just incorporated.

Press dough into an ungreased 9 x 13” baking dish. Bake for 25-30 minutes until lightly browned.

Cool slightly before cutting and serving!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

