Have You Had Enough Pumpkin Yet?

Being unemployed gives me a lot of time to do “research” for my blog. In reality, that means looking at foodgawker half of the day and when there’s no new posts, hitting “randomize”. Don’t judge me.

There have been a lot of recipes for Pumpkin Cheesecake Swirled Brownies. I know, sounds amazing, right?

A lot of recipes I saw used, in my opinion, not enough pumpkin cheesecake goodness. Most used only 6 ounces of an 8 ounce block of cream cheese. Now, I don’t really use that stuff. So why would I want 2 ounces hanging around?

That’s when I found Beantown Baker’s Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake Brownies recipe. I used her mixture for the pumpkin cheesecake portion. But, instead of making brownies from scratch (which you’re more than welcome to do), I used my FAVORITE brownie mix. Ghirardelli’s Double Chocolate Brownie Mix.

So, here’s my version. They came out fabulous. So fabulous that I had 2 right out of the oven. What…? I ran in the morning.


Side note:  I JUST got an early Christmas gift from my awesome aunt and uncle… a Kitchen Aid stand mixer!!! I may have jumped around the kitchen of my parents’ house when they passed it along to me. Look at it! I’m obsessed. Best. Present. Ever. I know, I’m a dork.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Swirled Brownies
Adapted from Beantown Baker
(Makes 24 brownies)

1 pkg. of your favorite brownie mix + ingredients to make them (dependent on brand)
8 oz. room temperature cream cheese (I used the reduced fat)
1 egg
½ c. sugar
2 ½ tbsp. flour
2/3 c. pumpkin puree
½ tsp. vanilla extract
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease a 9 x 12” baking pan.

Make the brownie batter according to the directions on the box in a medium sized bowl. Spread about 2/3 of the brownie batter into the pan. I know it doesn’t look like a good sized layer, but trust me, it will work out.

In another bowl or in a stand mixer combine all of the rest of the ingredients until smooth. Scrape the sides of the bowl when necessary.

Carefully dollop the cheesecake mixture on the top of the brownie batter and spread out in an even layer. Then, add spoonfuls of the rest of the brownie batter on top. Organized chaos. Exhibit A.

Then, very nicely and gently, run a knife through the chocolate areas and make little swirling motions. You want to drag it out a bit, cause you’re not trying to mix it, just swirl. Exhibit B.

It should look a little something like this when you’re done.

Just one little close up. Yum!

Easy enough right? Pop it into the oven for about 30-35 minutes. You can take it out when the cheesecake stops jiggling and the brownie batter comes out pretty darn clean with a toothpick. Little bits are ok. Don’t over bake! No one likes cake brownies. Well, some people do. I, however, do not.

What should you do while you’re waiting? Clean up! And by that, I mean feel free to lick the spatula, beaters, bowl, etc. Then wash, of course.

Cool for about 15-20 minutes before cutting. Or you know, maybe like 2 minutes if you’re like me. I promise you can taste more flavors when they’re cooler J Make sure you wipe off your knife regularly so you get clean cuts.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Have You Had Enough Pumpkin Yet?

  1. DEBBIE says:

    Gonna make them tonight 😀

Leave a Reply

