Heaven on a Plate

Hands down, this is now my favorite pumpkin recipe. Ever since fall came around, I really wanted to make pumpkin ravioli with a brown butter sauce. But, I couldn’t really be bothered to make a bunch of ravioli, so I decided to try it in lasagna form.

I had made a brown butter sage sauce with mushrooms last year when I made a pumpkin gnocchi (which reminds me I should probably make that again soon…). So I decided to incorporate mushrooms into it as well. I also wanted a little protein, which is where the cannellini beans come in.

I had zero patience waiting the 10-15 minutes for it to cool. I made it about 7, and I grabbed a forkful. And…

OH. MY. GOD.

Seriously. It was amazing. So creamy. Absolutely delicious. My mouth is drooling right now. I’m itching to get my hands on the leftovers in the fridge.

I won’t make you wait any longer…. here it is.

Pumpkin Lasagna
(Serves 6)

8 sheets of Dreamfield lasagna noodles (or your favorite)
1 14 oz. can of cannellini beans
1 10 oz. pkg. of cremini mushrooms, sliced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 ½ cans (15 oz. cans) of pumpkin puree
1 8 oz. container of part skim ricotta cheese
¼ tsp. each of dried basil, oregano, cumin and pumpkin pie spice
1/8 tsp. red pepper flake
1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
10-12 springs fresh thyme, stripped from stems
½ cup of shredded Italian blend cheese
2 tbsp. butter
Salt and pepper

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease a 9 x 13” baking dish.
  2. Cook lasagna sheets according to directions, but a couple minutes short of al dente. You still want them slightly firm cause they’re going to be cooking in the oven.
  3. In a large pan, heat the olive oil oven medium-high heat. Add the mushrooms and the garlic, cooking until just starting to brown, turn the heat to low, add the beans and all of the thyme, except 2 springs. Also add a sprinkle of salt and pepper.
  4. In a small bowl, combine the ricotta cheese with ½ tsp. salt and pepper, and the basil, oregano, and red pepper flake.
  5. In another small bowl, combine the pumpkin with 1 tsp. salt and ½ tsp. pepper, and the cumin and pumpkin pie spice.
  6. In a small pan, brown some butter over medium – medium-high heat for a few minutes. Swirl the pan occasionally. It’s done when the butter is brown and smells nutty. NOT burnt! It goes from brown to burnt quickly.
  7. Before you layer, put aside about 1/3 of a cup of pumpkin mixture.
  8. Time to layer! Put down a layer of lasagna noodles, then ½ of the pumpkin, half of the mushroom mixture, half of the ricotta. Repeat. Ending with another layer of noodles.
  9. Top with the reserved pumpkin. Then the shredded cheese and the brown butter.
  10. Pop in the oven for 30 minutes. Then put under the broiler to get it even more brown if need be.
  11. Allow to cool 10-15 minutes before serving. Slice up and enjoy!

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “Heaven on a Plate

  1. terry says:

    whoa, looks super delish!

  2. Looks so good! When are you making it for me?

  3. debbie says:

    Looks delicious..It will go well with the chocolate rolo cookies :)))))\

Leave a Reply

