Who Doesn’t Like Muffins?

Baking muffins is not something I do often. Baking a lot of stuff really, besides something adapted and fixed up out of a box, or something very simple. Or if a recipe really jumps out at me, like pumpkin scones. Why? I hate measuring things. With baking, you need to have the proper proportions of flours, baking soda/salt, wet and dry ingredients, etc. But I still never follow the recipe exactly. I end up eyeballing things. Usually it’s fine though. (Sorry avid bakers!)

But, sometimes I cave, like with these muffins. I absolutely love lemon poppy seed muffins. I got a craving for them the other day, so I tried to find a recipe low in fat.

I discovered this recipe from A Bicycle for Two. I adapted it a smidge based on things that I had on hand.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins
(Makes 12 muffins)

2 c. all purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
1/3 c. raw sugar plus 1 tbsp.
zest and juice of 2 lemons
1 small container (about 5 oz.) non-fat vanilla Greek yogurt
½ c. egg beaters (or 2 eggs)
1/3 c. oil
1/3 c. milk
2 tbsp. poppy seeds

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Prepare a muffin tin with muffin liners or grease each cup.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine the lemon zest and juice with the sugar. Add in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Whisk to combine.
  3. In another bowl, combine the yogurt, egg, oil, and milk.
  4. Combine the wet into the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined, then add the poppy seeds.
  5. Using a ¼ cup measuring cup, dip up the batter into the cups.
  6. Bake about 14 minutes, until light browned and a toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool and eat up!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

