A Favorite: Butternut Squash Soup

As soon as I knew the weather was going to be a little cooler, I was already planning to make butternut squash soup. It is my favorite soup EVER. I’ll always order it when I see it on a menu in a restaurant – which doesn’t happen very often!

This soup can also be made with pumpkin. However, I learned when I went to the grocery store that the pumpkin crops were bad last year, so places are having a tough time getting pureed pumpkin. I was looking for some plain pumpkin to use for scones (check out my blog tomorrow for recipe!) and to put some in the soup. Instead, I snatched one of the last pre-made pumpkin mixes in a can that already has spices in it. This was all after hitting my 3rd store! I was getting disappointed at the possibility of not making the scones.

Anyways, back to the soup. This is one of those recipes I tried to measure what I was putting in, in order to post it on the blog, but it really is about your own tastes. Like the soup a little warmer on the throat? Add some extra cumin and chili powder. All of the measurements are approximate, so please add spices a little at a time! You can always add more if need be 🙂

This time making the soup, I added a can of chickpeas for an extra bit of protein, and it made the soup SO thick! I had to add about 3 extra cups of water to thin it out, on top of the 2-3 cups of chicken stock I put in it.

So here’s the recipe, play around with it until you find flavors you like.

PS- these pics were taken on my boyfriend’s camera… it had a food setting! I love how well they came out, don’t you?

Butternut Squash Soup
(Serves 6…ish)

5 c. butternut squash, peeled and diced (about 2 whole butternut squash)
1 medium onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, whole
1 14 oz. can chickpeas aka garbanzo
3 c. chicken stock (or veggie stock if you’re a vegetarian)
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
2 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. cumin
2 tbsp. honey
2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
Salt and Pepper

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grab a roasting pan for the squash and a parchment lined baking sheet for seeds.
  • To peel the squash, I find it’s easiest to cut the ends off, and cut the long “neck” of the squash into 2 pieces. Then peel with a knife or vegetable peeler. The seeds are in the bulb end of the squash, so scoop out with a spoon, and separate seeds from the stringy meat. Dice the squash into about 1” pieces. It’s not an exact science; so don’t worry if the pieces aren’t exact.
  • Put the squash on the roasting pan along with your onion and garlic, drizzle with the olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for about 30-45 minutes. Stir every 10 minutes.
  • Place the seeds on the parchment lined baking sheet. Sprinkle with some pumpkin pie spice, chili powder and cumin. Roast until brown. Check on them after about 15 minutes. Then check every 2-3 minutes. Set aside.

  • When you take the seeds out, dump your rinsed and drained chickpeas onto the sheet with the squash. Continue roasting until butternut squash gets soft and slightly brown around the edges.
  • Now, time to puree! If you have an immersion blender, put all the roasting pan ingredients into your pot that you are going to cook the soup in, along with the 3 cups of chicken stock. Blend away! If not, use a blender and do in 3-4 batches and add chicken stock to each batch.
  • Once everything is blended and in a big pot, add honey, pumpkin pie spice, chili powder, and cumin. Add water or chicken stock to desired consistency. Taste it! Does it need more salt? Pepper? Spices? Add them!

  • Serve it up in a bowl or (my favorite) a mug. Top with roasted butternut squash seeds and enjoy!
Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A Favorite: Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Krista Isaac says:

    THIS WAS SO GOOD!!! I made it last night and it was just so amazing!!! I also liked that it wasn’t all that involved which is good for me 😉 Tonight– chicken and dumplings.. already in the crock pot. I love your blog!

  2. falling4food says:

    awww yay! so glad you liked it!! the chicken and dumplings are amazing. let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

