Healthy Snacking

Last night I wanted a little salty snack, but as I am coming to the end of my last grocery stash, I had to improvise.

I had a can of chickpeas in my pantry, along with some spices. Now, I’ve heard of people roasting chickpeas to make a crunchy snack. BUT I cannot use my oven in my shoebox studio I call home. The fire alarm goes off every time! I have since given up trying.

So, I decided to pan toast these little guys. While the results were delicious, they didn’t get as crunchy as their slow roasted counterparts. I think I was just being a little impatient (not one of my virtues by any stretch of the imagination). But they’re nutty flavors came out in a great way.

I used chili powder, lemon juice, and cumin. Another great flavor combination would be a little bit of garlic, rosemary/thyme and lemon. The possibilities are endless.

Like I said, you could also roast them. If you choose this route, put them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes and shake the pan around every 5-10 minutes. Next time I have an oven available to me, definitely going to try that out!

Pan Toasted Chickpeas
(Serves 2)

1 15-oz can of chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans)
2 tsp. chili powder
½ tsp cumin
½ juice of a lemon
1 tbsp. olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Heat up your pan on medium high heat along with the bit of olive oil. Throw in the chickpeas.
  2. Sprinkle in the spices and lemon juice and shake the pan around to stir.
  3. Since the pan is a bit high on heat, don’t walk away! Shake the pan around a bit… not constantly, but maybe every 30 seconds or so. We don’t want them to burn.
  4. Cook them for about 8 minutes or so. If they look like they’re getting too done, drop the heat a little to medium. I taste them along the way for seasonings, add more if needed.
  5. I like when they start popping in the pan a little. At this point, another 2 minutes and they’re done!
  6. Cool for a couple minutes, and devor!

The great thing about this snack is that they’re high in fiber and protein. So eat up!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

