One Pan. One Bowl.

So this has been a crappy week weather wise. Apparently last week was just a tease of fall! Yesterday was dreary and rainy all day, so I wanted something really hearty and comforting. But, I also wanted something that used minimal dishes because my maintenance guy STILL hasn’t come to fix my kitchen sink. I’ve been washing my dishes in my little bathroom sink for the last…oh, about 2 weeks now!

The earthquake we had dislodged my sink trap. What a fun surprise it was to find all the cans of chiles and red beans I had drained and soapy dirty dishwasher was flooding my cabinet underneath!

Anyways, I made a spin off of my favorite meal my grandmother makes me: polenta with Italian sausage and onions.  While I do love it, she uses A LOT of oil. So this is my healthier, but still super tasty, version!

Super easy & delicious. I promise.

Chicken Sausage with Peppers and Onions Over Polenta
(Serves 1 or 2 … depending if you want leftovers)

Sausage & Goodies:

4 links of your favorite sausage (I used a Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage), sliced on a bias
1 medium onion, sliced
1 red pepper, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
Sprinkle of red pepper flake, optional
Salt & pepper to taste
Parmesan cheese, optional

Polenta:

¼ c. dried polenta per serving (Bob’s Red Mill “Corn Grits” aka Polenta is good)
1 c. water
1 handful fresh spinach, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
Splash of extra virgin olive oil

  1. Heat up olive oil on medium high in a medium sized frying pan. Toss in the sliced sausage, peppers and onions. Cook until they start to brown, then turn the heat to medium and toss in the garlic.
  2. In your microwave safe bowl that you are going to eat out of, put in ¼ c. dried polenta and 1 c. water. Put in the microwave and cook on 1 minute intervals until the mixture is thick and creamy (usually about 2.5 minutes), stirring after each minute.
  3. Toss the fresh spinach into the polenta and season with salt, pepper, and a splash of olive oil. Mix to combine until the spinach is wilted. Let cool for about 3-5 minutes. This stuff really holds onto the heat!!
  4. Top with a spoonful of the sausage, onion and pepper mixture. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, if desired. Serve!

PS – I’m planning on making the leftover sausage mixture tonight by mixing it with pasta sauce and some shredded mozzarella and putting it over pasta! It would also be great over brown rice.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

