A Pizza Classic

Sometimes all you need to do is go with a classic. The first image I picture when I hear the word “pizza” is slices of fresh mozzarella, leaves of basil, and tomatoes on top of a pizza. Margherita is the ultimate pizza that showcases fresh, delicious ingredients.

When I was shopping in Trader Joe’s for the ingredients to my pizzas, I was going to buy Campari tomatoes. They have a great flavor and always taste like they’re right from the vine. BUT I quickly saw this little guys: mini heirloom tomatoes.

I love the little yellow guys!

Now, make a mini of anything and I immediately gush. Yes, even over tomatoes. Seriously though, how can you resist these?

I picked them up because I knew that sliced in half or thirds (depending on size), they would look adorable on my pizza. (Bonus: they tasted delicious too.)

Isn't it pretty?

Margherita Pizza
(Serves 2)

1 grilled pizza crust
½ carton of Mini Heirloom Tomatoes (or use 3-4 small tomatoes)
8 oz. of fresh mozzarella (I used low moisture part skim)
Handful of basil leaves, washed
1 large clove of garlic, minced
1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

  1. Slice the tomatoes into halves or thirds, depending on the size of the tomatoes.
  2. Slice the mozzarella into ¼” slices (about 7 or 8 slices).
  3. Bring all of your ingredients out to the grill when you’re ready to top your pizza!
  4. Lay the mozzarella down onto the pizza in a nice pattern so it’s spread evenly and looks pretty.
  5. Scatter tomatoes and basil across the top evenly (I tore the bigger leaves of basil).
  6. Sprinkle with the minced garlic clove. Close the lid!
  7. After a minute or so, take a peek. Is the mozzarella melting? Yes? Okay, turn the heat up to medium and keep an eye on the bottom of the crust so it doesn’t get overdone.
  8. Slide off the grill, drizzle with olive oil to finish, slice, and serve!

So happy I picked up those tomatoes!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

