Grilling Pizza?! Yes you can!

Today I tried something a bit out of my comfort zone: grilling pizza. Why is it out of my comfort zone? I’m horrible flipping things (i.e. omelettes, crepes, spaghetti pizza, etc.). I refuse to believe it’s a lack of hand-eye coordination because I’ve been playing sports my whole life. I have to admit, my heart was beating pretty quickly before I flipped my first dough onto the grill. But, it was a success! (at least the second one was).

So here’s how I did it. I used my thawed out 2 balls of dough leftover from my whole wheat pizza dough recipe from Deliciously Organic. To thaw out the dough, I let it hang out in the fridge the night before and this morning I let it come to room temp slowly on the counter.

To grill pizza (my way – without a pizza stone), you will need:

  • a grill
  • dough
  • flour
  • cutting board (or other flat surface)
  • 2 sheets of aluminium foil (about 18” or so long – big enough to fit your finished dough)
  • olive oil
  • a round cookie sheet (to flip the dough onto the grill – or just use your cutting board)

When it came time to use the dough, I lightly floured my cutting board and placed the ball of dough, which was now more resembling a disk, onto it. I stretched out the dough until it was about a ¼” thick. If any holes or very thin areas emerged, I just pinched the surrounding areas together.

Take one sheet of aluminum foil and spread out olive oil on it until it fills an area big enough for your pizza. Place your stretched out dough onto the oiled sheet. Rub some more olive oil onto the top of the pizza. Put the second sheet of aluminum foil on top, repeat steps with second dough ball after it is stretched. (stacking the dough was easier to transport to the grill, but you don’t have to…or you could just make one pizza!)

Preheat your grill on high for about 8-10 minutes so it gets nice and hot. In the meantime, prepare whatever toppings you’d like. I made a margherita pizza and BBQ chicken, which I will post tomorrow! Scrape your grill off so it’s nice and clean.

Now, time for the show!

So I found with my second pizza dough that it was easier to use a round cookie sheet to help with the flipping. Put one dough with the aluminium foil on the cookie sheet. Then, grab it on the sides from underneath (so it’s easier to flip). Now, you want to be quick with this because once the dough is down, it’s difficult to move it!

Confidence is key…

Ready…set…FLIP!

How did you do?!

I promise I screwed up the first one a little (as you will see in my BBQ chicken post). I was more confident with the second one and it turned out better!

This is my second attempt...which later becomes margherita!

Now, close the lid! Turn the heat to medium. Cook for about 2 minutes. Check the underside with a big spatula. Turn the dough around if you notice one side getting more cooked than another. Admire the grill marks while you’re at it. 😉

When it looks nicely browned, slide the pizza back onto the cookie sheet and flip!

By the way...the smell of this dough cooking is heavenly.

At this point, I turned the heat to low so I could take my time putting toppings on. Once they’re on, turn to medium again, close the lid, and let it hang for a couple minutes. Now, check on it! Is it done? Nice grill marks? Good. Pop that bad boy in the oven if you’re making another one. Or eat it if you can’t wait. Repeat the process. Enjoy!

Questions? Comments? Give me a post and I’ll get back to you. I tried to make it pretty detailed for the beginners!

Come back tomorrow for this recipe!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Grilling Pizza?! Yes you can!

  1. […] grilled pizza crust 1 chicken breast 1 small-medium-ish onion, sliced or diced ½ cup of your favorite BBQ sauce ¾ cup […]

  2. […] grilled pizza crust ½ carton of Mini Heirloom Tomatoes (or use 3-4 small tomatoes) 8 oz. of fresh mozzarella (I used […]

Leave a Reply

