Spiced Pumpkin Scones: They taste as good as they sound.

Pumpkin scones. As soon as I saw a recipe for them, they jumped to the top of my “to make” list! The only “scone” I have ever made is my family’s Irish Soda Bread recipe aka Irish Scone. And it’s more like a loaf of bread. Not little hand held scones that may first come to mind.

I saw the recipe on foodgawker originally, but I had to tweak it a bit based on ingredients I had and could find. As I said in my last post, pureed pumpkin is going to be hard to find this season. So stock up if you find it! I already have quite a few people on the look out for me….

I’m not going to keep rambling this post, I’m just gonna get to the goods. Cause they are amazing. The recipe is adapted from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen.

Spiced Pumpkin Scones
(Makes 12)

1 c. all purpose flour
1 c. whole-wheat flour
1 tbsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. cinnamon
6 tbsp. cold butter
6 tbsp. honey
½ c. canned pumpkin (I could only find the canned Libby’s pre-spiced pumpkin pie mix)
3 tbsp. milk
1 large egg

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Prepare a parchment lined baking sheet.
  2. Combine first 6 ingredients (dry stuff) in a bowl. Add in the butter and cut it into the flour until the mixture resembles course cornmeal. I just used a fork to mash it together.
  3. Combine the last 4 ingredients (wet stuff) in a bowl.
  4. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Form into a ball.
  5. Place the dough on a floured surface and pat out (or use a rolling pin) the dough to create a rectangle about 1” thick. (Note: my batter was a little wet, so I had to use a decent amount of flour to keep from sticking to my rolling pin & surface).
  6. Using a knife or bench scraper, cut width-wise into 3 equal sections. Then cut each section in half. Cut each section diagonally in half to make triangles.
  7. Place dough triangles onto your parchment lined baking sheet. Pop in the oven and bake for about 14 minutes, or until light brown around the edges.
  8. Allow to cool before eating. Drizzle with optional glaze (see below). Enjoy!

Spiced Glaze
1 c. plus 3 tbsp. powdered sugar
2 tbsp. milk
½ tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Combine all ingredients and drizzle over scone (I like using a fork for drizzling). Allow to dry for an hour before serving…if you can wait that long!

The first time I made these scones last weekend, I didn’t use the glaze. But, since I’ll have powdered sugar this week, I’m giving it a go!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Spiced Pumpkin Scones: They taste as good as they sound.

  1. [...] added a nice depth to the flavor. If you have some pureed pumpkin lying around (perhaps from making pumpkin scones), feel free to add it in! I also kicked up the pumpkiny flavor by putting some pumpkin pie spice [...]

  2. [...] and fixed up out of a box, or something very simple. Or if a recipe really jumps out at me, like pumpkin scones. Why? I hate measuring things. With baking, you need to have the proper proportions of flours, [...]

  3. Christina says:

    These turned out great! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed them! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

